Could it be?

I’m listening to a song he recommended to me,
and I’m already daydreaming about our next meeting,
when I see him I smile without trying to,
there is this spark within me when our eyes meet,
I can’t stop this fluttering in my stomach and chest,
It consumes me as I try to fall asleep,
It’s comfortable though,
we’re both leaning in, both falling down,
but we do it together, I am not in doubt.

Our hands haven’t held,
but they have briefly touched as I take the pen from his hands,
we sit close, our shoulders brushing as we draw,
it’s the same sketchbook and it’s me teaching him,
how to draw the curves of lips,
and without noticing I stare at his,
but we have not kissed,
and I know my chest will explode when that happens,
because this energy inside of me will burst free.

It had been immediate,
I talked to him because of mutual interest,
because I could see he didn’t talk to anyone,
and he responded eagerly,
and his smile started something within me,
I remembered him clearly that night,
and he haunted me so sweetly,
I looked forward to our next meeting,
and the next got better and better.

Crushes to me are devastating,
they take me by surprise,
but it is bittersweet with the pain of not knowing,
I always ended up seeing them pay more attention,
to someone prettier than me,
and I found myself unloveable,
but here I am, and there he is,
so tall and handsome and interesting,
we know each other already, and yet we know nothing.

Could this really be something?

Leave a comment